Blur split, FOREVER?!?!

Blur, left to right: Dave Rowntree, Graham Coxon, Damon Albarn and Alex James

So, I’ve just sat down and turned my laptop on. I scroll aimlessly through Facebook, turn on Annie Mac’s show from Friday and then I see the mother of all links from NME.

The mother of all links sadly announced that Blur’s show at Big Day Out (which, in the end was cancelled due to organisational issues) would have been the last time they played together.

Damon Albarn (lead singer of Blur) told the New Zealand Herald , “I didn’t want it to finish on anything other than a very positive note, because Blur is incredibly precious to all of us.”

I don’t know about you but I’m absolutely devastated. Luckily, I was able to see Blur last year in Poland but I can’t help feeling guilty to everyone who loves them as much as me and didn’t get a chance to see them.

Under The Westway was F A B but unfortunately it’ll only be a cheeky teaser from them; Albarn made that abundantly clear at the NME awards earlier this year, EVEN THOUGH THEY RECORDED 15 SONGS!

Blur is precious to us all, Damon. PLEASE come back and revive Britpop again soon.

Tweet us @undergrwth with your thoughts on Blur’s final decision to split!

Cleo xoxoxox

Leave a comment